Orthodox America Part 2

A few months ago, I wrote a post about Orthodoxy in America. https://orthodoxyinamerica.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/orthodox-america/

I made a point toward the end of the post about the youth. They are the future, yet many parents find it hard to take their kids due to embarrassment that they might misbehave. I know that when my oldest was very young I had difficulty keeping her in statuesque form during a particular Sunday. A lady pulled me aside afterward to chastise me for the poor behavior of my daughter. It caused me to skip for several weeks; I was both embarrassed and upset.

It was with great pleasure that I read the following excerpt from Bishop Thomas of the Antiochian Archdioce! Bravo Bishop Thomas, Bravo!

from—
 http://myocn.net/for-of-such-is-the-kingdom/

Bishop Thomas made me cry.

I was in the chapel at Antiochian Village. It was during the St. Emmelia Homeschool Conference. The chapel was packed full of families. Families with children. Children who were happy to be there, and children who were not. Children who were quiet and well behaved, and children who were not.

I was standing in the back. In front of me, the nave was like the ocean on a rocky beach: constant motion, constant noise. Sometimes it murmured. Sometimes it growled. Sometimes it crashed and roared. But the noise never stopped. The motion never stopped.

Parents handed little ones off to each other, hoping that a toddler who wouldn’t be still for mommy might be still for daddy. They took the loudest, most boisterous children out into the narthex to try to settle them down. They did everything they could do to keep the atmosphere in the chapel prayerful and worshipful.

And yet the chapel was full of children. And so the noise never stopped. The motion never stopped.

And in Bishop Thomas’s remarks at the end of the service, he told the assembled parents that their children belong in church. He said that God Himself welcomes them, that they belong in the church. How could they learn to love the church, he asked, if they were forbidden from being there? He talked about growing up in a church where children were not permitted to attend the Liturgy.

He talked about how much he hated cry rooms, and how he wished he could demolish all of them.

And then he told the parents assembled there that no one should tell them to take their children out of the church. He said if they go to church, and their child is behaving like a child, and someone tells them to take the child out, they should say, “Bishop Thomas told me I shouldn’t do that.”

And that’s when I cried. I cried, even though I no longer have young children. I cried because, when I had young children, when one of my children struggled with being in church, when I was doing everything I could to keep him in the church, I was told to take him out. If he couldn’t be quiet, he couldn’t be in church. And he couldn’t be quiet.

And so I cried. I cried for my child who, now grown, was sent out of the house of God. I cried for my child’s pain. I cried for my own pain, for the embarrassment and shame I felt when the priest told me to take my child out. I cried for all the little ones who have ever been told they were not good enough to be in church.

I cried because Bishop Thomas said they are welcome in the Church.

They are welcome in the Church.

Let the little children come to me, and forbid them not, for of such is the Kingdom of heaven.

One can read directly by pointing to the following hypertext link

http://myocn.net/for-of-such-is-the-kingdom/

Bishop Thomas

3 thoughts on “Orthodox America Part 2

  1. This made me so happy to read. There is nothing more discouraging than getting six kids ready for church, trying my hardest to keep them quiet and still, only to be told to leave by some crotchety usher. No matter how polite the request, it’s a crushing feeling. Not because of pride, but because I want to be in the church WITH my kids so badly.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. An unruly child in church receives from me a welcoming smile so not to dwell in judgement of the misbehavior. Nothing needs to be said to the child or the parent that will embarrass either.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. It is inconceivable to me that some “good meaning” well intentioned person would actually have the audacity to ask a parent to remove their child from a Liturgy. But, unfortunately, it happens much too often I suppose. I am very thankful for this post. Bravo to you and to Bishop Thomas.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

